top of page

Slow Progress Makes Perfect

This week has been slow... Like tortoise slow.

All of the ideas are together, but nothing has actually taken shape. We have our Instagram all set up, but there aren't any real posts to the account. I have started to curate a collection of photos and videos that I have taken to post on the Instagram. I am not sure what our captions on each photo should be yet. I am leaning towards using some of my favorite quotes and others about happiness or maybe little anecdotes from our days. I think it would be cool to do featured people of the week. Basically, it would be people in history or in modern society that have had an impact on someone's life in a positive way. Only time will tell exactly what the Instagram's feed will look like.

For this week's post, I need to share the 3 research questions that are driving this whole project for me:

1. Why is the culture of the internet and social media so negative?

2. How can we increase the number of happy posts to any social media site?

3. In what ways will a community respond once they start to see a different trend on the internet?

From those questions as well as may others, I have seen my 20% Time Project take shape. My idea started as a simple video diary, to an app, to an entire social media brand. (Still Looking for the Perfect Name BTW). One social media account can have thousands of hits in one day. If a couple people in our local community start to see this positive work, I hope that they will feel inspired to spread the same feeling that we are trying to generate on the internet. I think that that is kind of the main purpose of the project in my eyes.

The next step for us and our project is to actually get the posts up. I really think that a website in conjunction will really further our reach, but that is still in the works. And we also need to drum up a local following, starting with our friends and peers. So be on the look out for that soon! Until then, I will continue to just take the project day-by-day, slowly. But as they always say, slow and steady wins the race. Or in the case of my 20%Time Project, slow and steady produces a quality product that you can be proud of.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page