top of page

To Kill a Mockingbird Discussion #2

This week was chapters 10-14 of To Kill a Mockingbird and I am now certain that I am actually enjoying this book. The personalities of Scout, Jem and Atticus have really sold me on the novel, but keep reading to understand more about that.

 

Atticus Finch:

I have begun to understand his motives, morals and ethics better. At first, it kind of seemed like he was a main character that is a little stagnant. I have learned that he really does embody on of the central themes that we are discussing in class, The Secret Lives We Live. Scout and Jem were certain that their father was a boring man who did not do anything interesting. He, in fact, is not. After Atticus shoots the rabid dog, they are simply amazed, but frankly if I were one of them, I would be amazed too. It is funny because parents always joke about hobbies that they used to have before they had kids, but I now see and understand that so much better. Parents' main goal is to set a good example for their children, but Atticus is also trying to live up to his own moral code. As a man of law, he believes that every human on the earth deserves a fair advantage in life, which explains why he is willing to risk everything to help a man, Tom Robinson, who he believes is innocent to have a fair trial. I think he also thinks that it would be unfair and bad to bring out his shooting talents as well. Miss Maudie explained it to Scout very well by saying, "I think maybe he put his gun down when he realized that God had given him an unfair advantage over most things" (Lee 98).

Chapter 12 was my favorite chapter of this required section because of what Atticus said to Jem at the end of it. It really speaks to his parenting and lifestyle as he says, "son, I told you that if you hadn't lost your head I'd have made you go read to her. I wanted you to see something about her— I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand" (Lee 112). I think that section is beautiful and it also subtly speaks to the gun situation more. I see a lot of Atticus's parenting style in my parents. It is really cool to be able to notice and appreciate those good teachable moments within the story, though when I am living them, I don't always love it. So thanks parents ( they probably won't ever read this)!

 

Discussion:

The discussion we had in class started a little bit slow, but I really like where it got to. Obviously one of the big things to discuss was the quotation about mockingbirds that Atticus said, but Miss Maudie elaborated upon. Who is Harper Lee referring to when she put this quote in, African- Americans or Boo Radley? I personally am sure that it is a combination of both because they represent the innocence that a mockingbird is. I am really curious to see how that storyline develops and if Lee mentions mockingbirds as the story goes on. Speaking of innocence, we talked a little about pg. 44 & 116, where the childlike nature and immaturity of Scout and Dill is evident. Harper Lee definitely did that for comedic relief, but also to add perspective to the novel because it is very adult with complex themes. Scout is merely a child, living in a world that is full of hardships that she cannot possibly have any control over. Lastly, we discussed Calpurnia's mothering role for Jem and Scout. She is there to teach them necessary skills, but I also mentioned how she is trying to teach them "to go along to get along". When they go to her church, they are surprised to hear her difference in speech. She tries to explain to them that if she speaks how she normally would at their house, "her people" would feel disrespected, as if she feels that she is better than they are. I think Calpurnia is trying to warn Scout and Jem about growing a thicker skin, that fighting other people's opinions that may be wrong is not always the best idea because it is not important and it can be a waste of energy. I will also be interested to see if my theory about the quotation holds true throughout the rest of the novel as well.

Okay so here are the two questions that I want to explore in the next section:

1. Why did Harper Lee feel that Calpurnia was a necessary character to include in the novel?

In the first two sections that we read, there was limited to no mention of Scout and Jem's mother. I obviously understand that Calpurnia is there to watch over the children during the day and to act as a motherly figure, but there has to be another reason. I feel like Harper Lee is a really clever author that adds things in to be riddled with more than one meaning. I wish she wasn't dead so I could ask, but maybe it will appear further into the book?

2. How will Dill and Scout's relationship be heavily affected by Atticus's involvement in the Tom Robinson case?

Scout, thus far in the novel, has said that her and Dill are going to get married. That is clearly to play up the childhood innocence and I am not taking Scout's world that it will happen. You can already tell that Scout is not a priority to Dill when his family is involved, as he stayed at home the summer after he got a stepfather. Scout really relies on Dill as part of her support system and the Tom Robinson case is bound to be very hard on her. I could not fathom how much hard it would be if I did not have my best friend their to support me. And we don't know if Dill's family would support Atticus's work. That would be an interesting story to play out if Dill had to leave, but it would make me really sad for Scout and Jem, too I guess.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page